Only God Can Make A Tree…

I think that I shall never see a poem lovely as a tree.
From the poem, Treesby Joyce Kilmer.   The last few lines are:  Poems are made by fools like me, but only God can make a tree.

And who remembers the book written by Shel Silverstein?  Yep, “The Giving Tree” was one of my favorite books as a child.  Once there was a tree….
and she loved a little boy.  The last few lines are: Come, Boy, sit down. Sit down and rest.”
And the boy did.   And the tree was happy.

Another poem, “The Money Tree” by C.J. Heck.  I dreamed I grew a money tree outside in my yard.  The last few lines are: People say that money doesn’t really grow on trees.  I only wish it did just like in my dreams.   Wouldn’t that be fabulous!!

Trees are vital. As the biggest plants on the planet, they give us oxygen, store carbon, stabilize the soil and give life to the world’s wildlife. They also provide us with the materials for tools and shelter.

Not only are trees essential for life, but as the longest living species on earth, they give us a link between the past, present and future.

But what do you think about this idea?  It’s really crazy but I recently ran across this on the internet.   Italian designers Anna Citelli and Raoul Bretzel are proposing that we turn our dead bodies into trees!  They believe that burying bodies is a huge waste of space that could be used by the rest of us who are still breathing.  Cremation can produce a lot of toxic waste.  But a “burial pod” just might be that solution.

This idea is called “The Capsula Mundi”.  It would encase a corpse in an egg-shaped seed capsule and then be buried underground with trees on top of them. As your body decomposes, the tree would gather nutrients from the decomposing pod, and the circle of life would march on.   Would you do it?

eventi

 

One thought on “Only God Can Make A Tree…

  1. I had wanted to be cremated, but I now want a Jewish funeral like we were told about in the conversion class. No embalming, a pine box and no concrete liner = returning to the earth.

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

