Finding Inner Peace

My current work integrates my collage work into my art quilting.  “Finding Inner Peace” tells the story of how the power of someone’s words might cause pain and anguish.   Forget the famous nursery rhyme telling you that they don’t hurt. “Sticks and Stones” is an English languish children’s rhyme.  It persuades the child victim of name calling to ignore the taunt, to refrain from physical retaliation, and to remain calm and good-natured.  These harsh words can be harmful especially when spit out at you from all directions. Children or adults are not immune to mean words.   My quilt gives the message that even though mean words might make you feel that you are boxed in to a corner,  don’t ever give up or hide from your true feelings.  Please ask for help if you need it.  The key is to NEVER allow bullies or your own demons to make you sad or take over your thoughts and do damage.

My technique starts in my art journal with a drawing and paper collage.  The quilt is photographed, scanned on to fabric, machine quilted and hand embellished with beading.

img_8016

10″ x 7″  Finding Inner Peace

4 thoughts on “Finding Inner Peace

  1. Great Job! Love it.

  2. May the force be with you……………………..

    Perry

  3. It’s beautiful. I’d love to see how you scan it onto the fabric. Do you do it, or do you have to take it somewhere? I love the message.

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

