The Number 7…

img_6806

777 is used on most slot machines to signify that you won a jackpot.  After creating the world God rested on the seventh day and the seven-day week was adopted by all human civilizations.  God rested on the 7th day, that is the reason for the observance of Shabbat. Boeing, the airplane manufacturing giant, released a 777 airplane in June 1995. The number 7 is the seeker, the thinker, the searcher of Truth.  But the most important reference of all is our name, ZIEBEN, which is in German.  Friday, I went to our local JoAnns and bought new fabrics for an art quilt that I am getting ready to start.  What did I notice????  I bought exactly 7 different fabrics for my project!  I’m going to move forward on an idea that I have for the biennial exhibition of Sacred Threads.  This show was established to provide a venue for quilters of all faiths who see their work as a connection to the sacred and/or as an expression of their spiritual journey.  Here is a link if you are interested in entering: http://www.sacredthreadsquilts.com/html/callForEntries.html

I also noticed that it has been 7 long months since the last time I posted on my blog.  The very last day of February and the end of April were very trying times in my life.  We lost my father in law and also my mother.  I think my “creative muse” was on the back burner and I couldn’t bring myself to work on any art.  Lately, I have been working my way back with a few mosaic projects, which were mindless.  Now I am ready to tackle a new art quilt. The deadline to enter is December 31, 2016.  That means the opening of the show would be exactly 7 months from that date.   7 should be my lucky number!!  Wish me luck…

6 thoughts on “The Number 7…

  1. Finally you are back on track! You’ve been through a lot of twists and turns and now you’re moving straight ahead with this new quilt project. Good for you and I know you’ll do an excellent job. Love the fabrics you’ve chosen. GOOD LUCK!

  2. You have found your “groove”again after a tough few years! So happy to be exposed to your creative flow!
    Would love to see and learn about some of your process with tile and quilting! Home for awhile!
    Let me know when?

  3. Good luck Kathy, my most talented friend. Looking forward to seeing your finished quilt, sure it will be a winner!

  4. It was such a difficult year for you and it is wonderful that you are on your way back. Grief takes times to adjust to and none of like having to adopt “a new normal” bravo and great good luck! I know that it will a wonderful piece!

  5. You have luck. So, use it and spread it around….

  6. Yes it seems like you are on an uplifting journey and task. Also 777 is the lateLebovitcherRebbe’s address. Hag Sameach and Happy Simchas Torah!

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

