Photorealism in Acrylics

Eight weeks ago I signed up to take Photorealism in Acrylics Painting through the Glasscock School of Continuing Studies through Rice University.   What is photorealism?

Photorealism is a genre of art that encompasses painting, drawing and other graphic mediums, in which an artist studies a photograph and then attempts to reproduce the image as realistically as possible in another medium. Although the term can be used to broadly describe artworks in many different mediums, it is also used to refer specifically to a group of paintings and painters of the United States that began in the late 1960s and early 1970s.

Inspiration came from artists such as Wayne Thiebaud, Audrey Flack, Ralph Goings, Chuck Close, and Janet Fish, just to name a few.

In order to explore the narrative possibilities of still life we captured images from Whole Foods grocery store, hoping to get that one shot that would be good enough to paint!  One reason I wanted to take this class was to be able to use my photography skills in my art.  Using a grid system, we learned to transfer our imagery to canvas.  But then the hard part came.  How to paint something that would look real?  I decided to do an ear of corn for my first attempt.  My painting became more of a “mixed media” piece of art because I used fabric and thread to complete my project.

Here is the final product that I will present in class today.

IMG_3174 IMG_3173 (1)

“CORN” acrylic painting on canvas, fabric, thread

16″ x 20″

4 thoughts on “Photorealism in Acrylics

  1. Wow! You really did a great job on that ear of corn! It does look REAL!

  2. WoW! Stupendous! I wish I had the ability to take a class like that! Well done. bravo!

  3. Fantastic!

  4. I LOVE IT!!! I’d give you an A+
    You are amazing

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

