The letter “G” is for Gummy Bear

IMG_4867

The Gummy Bear originated in Germany in 1920.   But the first American made Gummy Bear candy appeared in 1982.  They are a blend of corn starch, corn syrup, sugar, gelatin, color, and flavor.  Edible gelatin is the basic ingredient in Gummy Bears and gives the candy elasticity, the desired chewy consistency, and a longer shelf life.  Gelatin has been used since the time of the Egyptian Pharaohs!  Gummy Bears made with either bovine or porcine gelatin do NOT follow religious dietary laws.  But never fear, some Gummy Bears are made with pectin or starch instead of gelatin, making them suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

IMG_4868

 

What are the flavors of the Gummy Bears?   There are grape, wild cherry, lemon, orange, pineapple, strawberry, apple, banana, lime, watermelon, red raspberry, and grapefruit.

DO YOU HAVE A FAVORITE?

Advertisements

One thought on “The letter “G” is for Gummy Bear

  1. We sold Gummy Bears as a fundraiser for our German Club back in the early 70s. We’d much rather eat them then jello.

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s