Armed With Grace

Sacred Threads is a show open only to quilters within the United States and Canada.  Quilts submitted should explore themes of joy, spirituality, peace/brotherhood, inspiration, grief or healing.  The inspiration for my quilt came from an image of the Lady of Guadalupe that you commonly see everywhere.

Our Lady of Guadalupe, an avatar of the Virgin Mary, allegedly first appeared before the peasant Juan Diego in 1531.  The Virgin imprinted an image of herself surrounded by roses, on his tilma, a thin blanket-type-covering made of cactus fibers.  Our Lady of Guadalupe’s image provides all people with her love, compassion, help and protection.

I was inspired to make this quilt upon seeing the tattoo depiction of Our Lady of Guadalupe on someone’s arm.   The shape and bright colors fascinated my artist eye!

My quilt, ARMED WITH GRACE, was juried into The Sacred Threads 2013 show out of hundreds of entries.  I was very pleased to have been accepted into my third show of theirs.  (2009, 2011, 2013)  I hope to try again in 2015!

Armed With Grace

Quilt size is 24″ x 23″

Armed With Grace 

The biennial show does not emphasize any particular religion or theology but conveys the spirituality, healing and inspirational messages that transcend all people.

Sacred Threads 2013 closes on July 28th!  If you are in the area please stop by and see my quilt.

Floris United Methodist Church

13600 Frying Pan Park Rd

Herndon, VA 20171

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

