Misunderstood or Understanding

Esoterica is information understood by a small group and usually misunderstood by a larger group.  This is how I feel in my photojournalism class.   The teacher understands what he wants from us but I don’t understand how to voice it yet.  He keeps telling us to ask yourself, “WHAT IS THE STORY?”   Well, how much does story plays a part in my images?   I do not know the answer to that question yet.

When I take a photo do I try to speak, sing, inform, protest, depress, honour, lead, monumentalize, mystify, convert, entertain, tease, uplift, amuse, eulogize or cause people to think?   DEFINITELY!!!    Is the photo a tribute to my process and my way of working or is my photo’s story (or non-story)  define not only my work, but me?   It is all so confusing right now!

Here are a few images I took last week.

IMG_9884

Riding the Metro rail to the livestock show…

IMG_0161

Carnival time…

IMG_0223

 

Zak Brown look alike from his concert at the rodeo…

IMG_0328

 

Shooting the cows…

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

