THE PITS

I saw this on the internet today and couldn’t believe what I read.  Traded baseball player to leave family in US because his dog is banned in Toronto

To read more: http://www.foxnews.com/sports/2013/02/19/traded-baseball-player-to-leave-family-in-us-because-his-dog-is-banned-in/?test=latestnews#ixzz2LMBMCAPC

I have to admit that i was VERY afraid of this breed before I ever met one in person. If current news reports are to be believed, pit bulls have been attacking and biting humans left and right—to the point that many communities are considering bans on pit bulls.  That was my perception of them, that if I saw one it would run over and bite and maul me!  My first encounter with a pit bull was at Petsmart.  Some man was walking his puppy around and I went up to him and asked if I could pet his dog.  It was the cutest, most endearing pit bull!  Then I found out that my son’s friend had rescued a pit bull and named him Jellybean, so people wouldn’t be scared of him.  He is also a sweetheart!

IMG_7751

Can you believe they were very popular for very different reasons?  Far from being considered a killing machine on legs, pit bulls were American’s favorite!  Referring to an athlete as a pit bull is a very common sports metaphor through the 1930s, and it was meant as the highest compliment. There is also a famous racehorse in the late 1930s named Pit Bull, as well as a number of pit bull stars of early motion pictures. Frequently, pit bulls are associated with children, as in the Our Gang comedies, as well as with Buster Brown, both in short films and as the corporate mascot for a shoe company.  (are you old enough to remember that?) The famous RCA Victor image of a dog and a gramophone also featured a pit bull terrier.

Our-GangGallPicurl
But what had the most impact on how I felt about this breed came with watching Cesar Millan’s show, The Dog Whisperer.  I loved that show and fell in love with his dog Daddy.  Now he has a new pit named Junior.  I realized that all dogs are a product of their owners.  That people make the mistakes and the owners need training!   I also watch the show Pitbulls and Parolees.  It is a show about second chances.  I believe this breed needs to be accepted for  who they are!  There are no bad dogs…just bad owners!

My friend Risa just rescued a pit bull mix.  They named him Gumbo and he has to be the smartest puppy I have EVER met!

IMG_1545

3 thoughts on “THE PITS

  1. I am so glad you changed your mind about pit bulls. They are amazing and rather than looking at the breed what needs to be addressed is the fact that many pet parents do not train their dogs nor look for ways to educate themselves about this breed, training, temperament, etc. I also love, love Cesar Millan and I was in love with his pit bull Daddy:)

  2. Kabfarris@aol.com

    This is my precious grand dog, Lucy. She’s a sweet girl!! Kathryn Farris 2511 Encino Lane Sugar Land TX 77478 Cell: 713/882-9351

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

