MY CHERISHED CUPPYCAKE

If you love cupcakes, and boy am I a big fan of them, then you probably want to rush out and buy one after reading my blog today.   Did you know that they were originally named Fairy Cakes back in 1796?  They were designed to serve only one person, frequently baked in a small thin paper. Cupcakes have now become the trend.  I think the very first commercial snack cake I ever ate was the Hostess Cupcake.  

File:Hostess-Cupcake-Whole

 

Remember how delicious these tasted especially when you bit into the white frosting inside?   But now there are so many choices to select from.  My favorite is Red Velvet although I wouldn’t pass on any of them!  What about the names of cupcake stores?   Have you ever noticed how clever the names are around the country?  If you watch the show, Cupcake Wars, on The Food Network, then you have heard of some of them. Here a just a few I found on the internet:

  • Cake a Bite
  • Lil’Miss Cake
  • Cake My Breath Away
  • Cup of Cake
  • Sprinkles
  • Crave Cupcakes
  • Cupcakes Take the Cake
  • Cups
  • Crushcakes
  • Bee Sweet Cupcakes
  • Kickass Cupcakes
  • Big Man Bakes
  • Skinnie Piggy

Almost three years ago I made a quilt for an online challenge  while attending Susan Shie’s Turtle Camp.  It was about  the Quinceañera for the 15th anniversary of Quilt Art, our huge art quilters’ email listserv that started in 1995.  I used a cupcake, with 15 candles for the Quinceañera theme.  Susan, Bonnie, and Marsh all contributed to this 15″ x 15″ piece.  I named my quilt “MY CHERISHED CUPPYCAKE”.   It was a term used to show endearment towards someone you love. 

kz

NOW GO HAVE YOUR FAVORITE CUPCAKE…

2 thoughts on “MY CHERISHED CUPPYCAKE

  1. tweetyrja@aol.com

    I miss my HOSTESS cupcakes!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. CUPCAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

