Make My Eyes Look To The Future

I finally finished my quilt entry for my Fiber Artists for Hope quilt group that I belong to.  My quilt is called “MAKE MY EYES LOOK TO THE FUTURE.”  It is my tribute to Henrietta Szold, the founder of Hadassah.

Hadassah’s first mission was to send two nurses to Palestine to provide pasteurized milk to infants and new mothers, and to eradicate trachoma.  By 1918, Hadassah had sent an entire medical unit, composed of 45 doctors, nurses, dentists and sanitary workers, to bring American-style medical care to serve all, regardless of race, creed, or ethnicity.

From these early efforts developed the beginning of the Israeli healthcare system, which today includes some of the world’s leading research and treatment hospitals.  The New York Times called her “a woman of quiet charm, the most brilliant Jewish woman in America.”

Henrietta Szold dedicated her life to fighting ignorance, injustice, anti-Semitism, and disease.  I am proud to be a life member of Hadassah.

make my eyes look to the future

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

