Running out of time…

“old age makes you so much more aware of what you really want in life”

This quote (i made it up)  really rings true for anyone that is heading into their late 50’s.   Why am I thinking about this today?  Because I  finally made the very hard decision to give up my mosaic art.  This is an art form that requires way too much storage space for someone without a separate studio space outside of the home.  Storing the hundreds of junk items, tiles, old plates and materials that you need for this art was eating away at me!   This was a constant source of clutter  for me where we now live!  About two years ago I realized that I do NOT do well with clutter.  Peter Walsh said that disorganization can clutter your mind and I believe it to be true.  I was getting stuck when it was time to create a new project!   Peter offers these suggestions for keeping your house clutter free…

  • Tackle messes one room at a time.
  • When you buy something new, practice the “in-out rule:” For every one new item, get rid of an old one.
  • Create a vision for the room you’re cleaning.
  • Use a hanger system to determine which clothes you wear most.
  • Ask yourself if you really need something. If you hesitate, you don’t.

 

Practicing these steps has really helped me to purge the clutter.  I am ready to concentrate on my photography,  art quilting and mixed media work from now on.    Of course I will  probably still pick up a chipped plate and think to myself (this would look great on a mosaic project)  BUT I WILL NOT BRING IT HOME!   HA…

2 thoughts on “Running out of time…

  1. Thank you for joining the Meadows Home and Garden Club’s 37th Hand Made Craft Show! You graced us with your presence and everyone is fighting over the pieces you were kind enough to share. We are all curious as to what that table was used for originally and the pieces your shared are going to find the perfect spot. You are amazing as an artist and a friend. Hope you had a wonderful Anniversary!

  2. If you have any blue & white plates, I’ll be right over.

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

