Looking tough

I don’t know about you but we have dozens of lizards that scurry into the grass or ivy where I live.  I am not afraid of them, which is good, and either is Zoey.  They move really fast and seem to almost float across the roads.  Anoles are often called chameleons because they can change color from green to brown.  This guy was watching me watching him outside my kitchen window.

 

When male anoles are feeling particularly aggressive, they “threaten” by opening and closing their large red dewlap. They also bob up and down-sort of like doing pushups!  The lizard just wants to look tough.

One thought on “Looking tough

  1. Much easier to read now!
    Love those little critters – but can’t say that I miss them! Great shots!
    M

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

