The Kol Nidre prayer (Hebrew: כל נדרי)

What a day!  It started with an upgrade to a new phone at AT&T from my Apple 4s.  That took forever and I wasn’t even waiting in line for the new Apple iPhone 5.  I decided  to convert  and buy the  Samsung Galaxy 3.  The girl that helped me was nice enough to show me a few things but I am counting on a lot of patience from my son Lane.  He has the same phone. Do you know how frustrating it is to listen to your phone ring or get a text message and NOT know how to answer them???

Over lunch he showed me a few things and by this afternoon I was starting to get the hang of it.  Now I am on my trusty computer and it is time to look for recipes for me to bake tonight.

While surfing around the internet  I stumbled across this blog about sweets.  The name caught my eye, LICK THE BOWL GOOD and then scrolling down her postings I liked it more and more!   I AM SUCH a sweet addict that these caught my eye.  They are called Meyer Lemon-Lime Bars.   I am going to make them as soon as i can get to the store.  My sister in law is having break the fast at their house  tomorrow night.  Here is the recipe:

For the crust:

  • 3/4 lb. unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp. kosher salt

For the filling:

  • 6 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 3 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. finely grated Meyer lemon zest
  • 1 Tbsp. finely grated lime zest
  • 1 cup freshly squeezed lemon/lime juice (I used 6 small Meyer lemons and 2 limes)
  • 1 cup flour
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Butter a 9 x 13 x 2″ baking pan, then line the bottom and sides of the pan with parchment paper. This is optional but will make removing the bars from the pan, much simpler.

For the crust: Cream the butter and sugar until light in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.

Combine the flour and salt and, with the mixer on low, add to the butter mixture until just mixed.

Dump the dough onto a well-floured board and gather into a ball. Flatten the dough with floured hands and press it into the bottom of prepared pan.

Chill the pan while the oven preheats to 350° F.

Bake the crust for 15 to 20 minutes, until very lightly browned. Let cool on a wire rack. Leave the oven on.

For the filling: Whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon and lime zest, lemon and lime juice, and flour.

Pour over the crust and bake for 35-45 minutes, until filling is set.

Let cool to room temperature. Cut into squares or triangles and dust with confectioners’ sugar.

Store any leftovers in a covered container in the refrigerator.

Makes about 24 squares.

The Jewish community is preparing to observe the holiest day of the year, Yom Kippur, also known as the Day of Atonement. It begins at dusk tonight and ends at dusk on Wednesday. It is a period of complete fasting, about 25 hours in length, and it ends with a communal “break fast.”  I won’t be fasting this year but I will ask all those that I have wronged to forgive me.  Click the link below and listen to the prayer called the Kol Nidrei.  It is so beautiful and makes you reflect .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJss7GBagiw&feature=related

Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

