Consecration Ceremony

My great niece, Mia, was consecrated last night at temple.  Thankfully I was just the great Aunt that could take photos and not worry about any responsibilities of being the parent.  I could relax and just enjoy watching her excitement build as they sang songs and paraded down the isle!  What is so hard to believe is that it was 15 years ago when Avery and Lane were consecrated and 26 years since Brent got his little Torah.  It seems like it was just yesterday.  The years flew by!

If you don’t know about the consecration ceremony then let me tell you a little bit about it. This is a ceremony used in Reform congregations to mark the beginning of a formal Jewish education, usually with K or 1st grade. It is a group ceremony often celebrated on Simchat Torah, and usually the young participants are given a small replica of a Torah to symbolize the start of their study of Torah.

Let me share some of the many photos I took last night:


					
Tell me what you think. I would love to hear from you!

